The great balance…

Does it exist?

For those who love what they do and do what they love, there will always be a pull to do whatever feels best at a given moment. However, how do you balance that across personal and professional lives?

I am fortunate enough to have a loving wife and extended family, including my dog, all of whom I love to spend time with doing anything (really!).

I’m also fortunate enough to work at a great company with fantastic people in a growing industry in which I network with incredible people.

Often times, I feel like not going to work because I’ve having so much fun at home (uhhh, most Monday mornings! šŸ™‚

On the flip side, 5pm rolls around and I’ve finding myself knee deep in work stuff and I just can’t pull myself to get into my car and head home.

What do you do? How do you deal with the push and pull of creating a proper work-life balance?

I don’t have the answer. However, here are a few things I’m trying to see if I can get a better grip on this problem. Let me know what you think in the comments and if you have better suggestions, please share!

  1. Disconnect work email from my mobile devices. (exception: work-related travel)
  2. Leave the office at 5pm, regardless of when you get in. (exception: work-related travel; concession: get to office early)
  3. Do not work on weekends or in the evenings. (exception: the world is coming to an end, work pings me via phone call)

It’s a start, and it has worked to an extent. Let’s see what happens.

Leave a Reply

